The R.A. Fisher Prize

R. A. Fisher Prize

The R. A. Fisher Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution for an outstanding Ph.D. dissertation paper published in the journal Evolution during a given calendar year.

This prize pays tribute to one of the most distinguished evolutionists of the 20th Century, Sir Ronald Fisher, who with JBS Haldane and Sewall Wright, developed theoretical population genetics and established its central position within evolutionary biology.  Fisher’s interests ranged widely, but placed particular emphasis on the dynamics of mutation and selection and how these contribute to adaptation.

Amy Hurford

This year's Fisher Prize is awarded to Dr. Amy Hurford for her paper: Hurford, A. and T. Day. 2013.Immune evasion and the evolution of molecular mimicry in parasites. Evolution 67(10): 2889-2904.

Hurford explored a variety of hypotheses about the coevolution of vertebrate immune systems and pathogens, using mathematical models. One of her primary goals was to understand the evolutionary origins of infection-induced autoimmune disorders. She developed mathematical models using techniques from dynamical systems and game theory to better understand the conditions under which we might expect pathogens to evolve molecular mimicry. She and her coauthor analyzed the patterns of molecular mimicry that are expected under two hypotheses regarding molecular mimicry by parasites. One of their findings was that the highest risk of autoimmunity comes from parasites that display intermediate levels of mimicry. Interestingly, and highly relevantly, they also explored the consequences of different medical interventions on the evolution of mimicry and the incidence of autoimmunity.

Dr. Hurford received her Ph.D. in 2011 from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Queens University, where he was advised by Dr. Troy Day. Following postdoctoral appointments at York University and the University of Toronto, she began a faculty position at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Past Fisher Prize winners:

2013 William Soto
2012 David McCandlish
2011 D. Luke Mahler
2010 Britt Koskella
2009 Megan Higgie
2008 R. Brian Langerhans
2007 Guillaume Martin
2006 Maurine Neiman

Nomination/Application for the 2015 R. A. Fisher Prize

The R. A. Fisher Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution for an outstanding Ph.D. dissertation paper published in the journal Evolution during a given calendar year. The award comes with a $1000 honorarium.

            Eligibility -- To be eligible for consideration, a manuscript must be based on graduate work of the primary author.

            Nominations/Application -- Authors of eligible manuscripts may initiate a nomination upon acceptance of their manuscripts for publication. Nominations must include the final version of the manuscript, dissertation completion date, and a supporting letter from the Ph.D. supervisor or other individual familiar with the work. If the candidate is not the sole author of the paper, the supporting letter should identify the candidate’s role in completing the research and writing the paper.  Nominations for manuscripts published in 2014 will be accepted throughout the year but must arrive no later than January 31, 2015. The complete nomination should be submitted electronically to the SSE Secretary (Cynthia Weinig) at

            Award -- The Fisher Prize is accompanied by a check for U.S. $1000, and will be awarded at the annual meeting of the Society for the Study of Evolution. The recipient is invited to attend the annual meeting to receive the award. To facilitate attendance, the SSE provides funds to cover the costs of conference registration, accommodation during the conference, and expenses for travel to and from the conference.  The recipient will be notified of the award by late March 2015.