Officers

Officers and Council Members
Committees
Publishers Contacts
Business Office
Email List
Handbook for SSE Council and Committee Members

 


SSE Council Meeting at Evolution 2017

Back row from left: Becky Fuller, Jodie Wiggins, Daniel Matute, Trisha Wittkopp, Kim Hughes, Aneil Agrawal, Cynthia Weinig, Butch Brodie

Front row from left: Kati Moore, Megan Kobiela, Kristi Montooth, Louise Mead, Sally Otto, Jenny Boughman, Andrea Case, Cathy Rushworth, Mohamed Noor, Kelly Dyer

Not pictured: Hopi Hoesktra, Isabel Gordo, Susan Alberts

 

SSE Officers and Council Members: 2018

denotes voting members

President
+ Hopi Hoekstra
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 496-9040
hoekstra@oeb.harvard.edu
president@evolutionsociety.org

President-Elect
+ Mark Rausher
Department of Biology
Duke University
Campus Box 90338
Durham, NC 27708-0338
(919) 684-2295
mrausher@duke.edu

   

Past President
+ Sally Otto
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z4
(604) 822-2778
otto@zoology.ubc.ca

Link to Evolution 2017 address

Executive Vice-President
Andrea Case
Department of Biological Sciences
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio, USA 44242
(330) 672-3699
acase@kent.edu
execvp@evolutionsociety.org

   

Vice-Presidents
Jenny Boughman (North American)
Department of Zoology
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, USA 48824
(517) 353-8636
boughman@msu.edu

+ Tracey Chapman (non-North American)
School of Biological Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich Research Park
Norwich, Norfolk, NR4 7TJ, UK
+44 (0)1603 59 3210
tracey.chapman@uea.ac.uk

   

Secretary
+ John Stinchcombe
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Department
University of Toronto
25 Willcocks Street
Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 3B2
(416) 946-5986
john.stinchcombe@utoronto.ca
secretary@evolutionsociety.org

 
   

Council – Class of 2018
Susan Alberts
Department of Biology
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 660-7272
alberts@duke.edu

Rebecca (Becky) Fuller
Department of Animal Biology
University of Illinois - Champaign
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-9065
fuller@life.illinois.edu

   

Council – Class of 2019
Daniel Matute
Department of Biology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu

Trisha Wittkopp 
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 763-1548
wittkopp@umich.edu

   

Council – Class of 2020
Amy Angert
Department of Botany
Faculty of Science
3200-6270 University Blvd.
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z4
604-827-3892
amy.angert@botany.ubc.ca

Andrea Sweigart 
Department of Genetics
University of Georgia
120 Green Street
Athens, GA 30602-7223
706-542-70018
sweigart@uga.edu

   

Editor-in-Chief, Evolution
Mohamed Noor 
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 613-8156
noor@duke.edu

 
   

Editor, Evolution 
Peter Tiffin
Department of Plant Biology
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN 55108
(612) 624-7406
ptiffin@umn.edu

Editor, Evolution 
Maria Servedio
Biology Department
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

   

Editor-in-Chief, Evolution Letters
Jon Slate
Room B85, Alfred Denny Building
The University of Sheffield
Western Bank, Sheffield, S10 2TN, UK
+44 (0)114 222 0048
j.slate@sheffield.ac.uk

   

Social Media & Communications Editor, Evolution Letters
Nicola Hemmings
Department of Animal and Plant Sciences
The University of Sheffield
Western Bank, Sheffield, S10 2TN, UK
+44 (0)114 222 4828
n.hemmings@sheffield.ac.uk

 
   

Chair, Education & Outreach
Louise S. Mead
Education Director
BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action
567 Wilson Ave, BPS 1441
East Lansing, MI
(517) 884-2560
lsmead@msu.edu

Chair, International Committee
Tracey Chapman
School of Biological Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich Research Park
Norwich, Norfolk, NR4 7TJ, UK
+44 (0)1603 59 3210
tracey.chapman@uea.ac.uk

2018 SSE Committee Memberships

* Committee designated in Constitution or Bylaws
Ad hoc committee appointed by Pres. and approved by council

To learn more about the role and objectives of each committee, please consult the SSE Handbook for Council and Committee Members.

Nominating Committee
Constitution, Article 5
Norman Johnson (Chair)
Marc Johnson
TBD
Finance Committee
Bylaws, Article 4 
Andrea Case (Chair)
Butch Brodie
Kim Hughes
Elizabeth Lacey
   

Graduate Student Advisory Council
+ Jodie Wiggins (Chair)
+ Megan Kobiela (Past Chair)
Liz Lange (Chair Elect)
Daren Card
José Cerca
Melissa Plakke

GSAC@evolutionsociety.org

   
Dobzhansky Award Committee
Bylaws, Article 4
John Stinchcombe
Jenny Boughman
Tracey Chapman
Fisher Prize Commitee
Bylaws, Article 4
Sally Otto
Hopi Hoekstra
Mark Rausher
   
Gould Committee
(Two members of the Education committee and the two 3rd year council members)
Michael Antolin (Chair)
Joe Graves
Susan Alberts
Becky Fuller

Graduate Research Excellence Grants Committee
(North American VP, Non-North American VP, 1st & 2nd year council members, 3 members of GSAC))
Jenny Boughman (Chair)
Tracey Chapman
Trisha Wittkopp
Daniel Matute
Andrea Sweigart
Amy Angert
3 members of GSAC

   
Hamilton Award Committee
Joel McGlothlin (Chair)
Janna Fierst
Katy Heath
Chris Herlihy
Jennifer Kovacs
Daniel Matute
Will Ratcliff

Diverse Careers Committee
Lex Flagel (Chair)
Judi Brown Clarke
Eddie Gonzalez
Sarah Seiter
Liz Silva
Lenny Teytelman
Grace A Wyngaard
Mohamed Noor (ex officio)

Diverse Careers Committee Website

   

Public Policy Committee
Sarah Otto
Cynthia Weinig
Jenny Boughman
Amanda Moehring
Courtney Fitzpatrick

Diversity Committee
Daniel Matute (Chair)
Maurine Neiman
Kelly Dyer
Catherine Rushworth
Eve Humphrey
Brandon Ogbunugafor
Maria Orive
Mark Rausher

diversity@evolutionsociety.org

   

Early-career Vocational Opportunities (EVO) Workshop Selection Committee
Trisha Wittkopp (Chair)
Daren Card
José Cerca


 

International Affairs Committee
USA/Canada: Daphne Fairbairn (USA), Andrew Hendry (Canada).
Europe: Axel Meyer (Germany), Tracey Chapman (Chair; UK).
Australia/New Zealand: Andrew Cockburn (Australia), Graham Wallis (New Zealand).
Africa: Matthew Conrad (South Africa), Isa-Rita Russo (South Africa).
South America: Enrique Lessa (Uruguay)
Asia: Suhua Shi (China)


 

Joint Meeting Committee
Aneil Agrawal (SSE representative)
Kelly Zamudio (SSB representative)
Matt Walsh (ASN representative)
Howard Rundle (Chief Meeting Officer)
Andrea Case (SSE EVP)


 

SSE Education & Outreach Committee
Louise S. Mead (2008) (Chair)
Thomas R. Meagher (1997)  
Michael Antolin (2001)
E Dale Broder (2013)  
Scott Edwards (2000)
George Gilchrist (2009) (ASN Representative)
Joseph L. Graves Jr. (2000)
Kristin Jenkins (2006)
Rebecca Kimball (2008) (SSB Representative)
Rich Kliman (2014)
Juliet Noor (2014)
Mohamed Noor (2013)
Steve Palumbi (2002)
Robert T. Pennock (2000)
Sam Scheiner (2001)
Jim Smith (2012)
Jory P Weintraub (2013)
Lorne Wolfe (2007)
Barrie Robison (2017)
Alexa Warwick (2017)
Phil Gibson (2018)
Gaby Hamerlinck (2018)

 

 


Publishers Contacts


 

Wiley-Blackwell Publishing
Steven Ottogalli
Publisher, Life & Physical Sciences
Global Research & Society Services
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 748-7761 
sottogalli@wiley.com

Katie Simmons
Managing Editor, Evolution
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
evoedoffice@wiley.com

   

Gillian Greenough
Executive Editor, Life & Physical Sciences
Research & Society Services
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 748-5850
ggreenough@wiley.com

Shantaya Brinson
Managing Editor, Evolution Letters
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
sbrinson@wiley.com

 


Business Contacts

SSE Communications
Kati Moore
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
communications@evolutionsociety.org

 

Interim Executive Director 
Heather Cacanindin
Interim Executive Director
BSA & SSE
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299, St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9554
FAX: 314-577-9515
hcacanindin@evolutionsociety.org


Email List Contacts

 

EvolDir – Brian Golding
golding@mcmaster.ca

EcoLog
ECOLOG-L-request@listserv.umd.edu


Back to top