Officers

Officers and Council Members
Committees
Publishers Contacts
Business Office
List Serves

 

SSE Officers and Council Members: 2014
(Names of voting members are in bold face)

President
Mohamed A. F. Noor
Biology Department
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-613-8156     
noor@duke.edu
President-Elect
Daphne Fairbairn

Department of Biology and Graduate Program in Evolution
Ecology and Organismal Biology
University of California, Riverside
Phone: 951-827-4791
daphne.fairbairn@ucr.edu
   

Past President
Richard E. Lenski
Dept. Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-884-5397
Lenski@msu.edu

Executive Vice-President
Edmund D. (“Butch”) Brodie III
University of Virginia
Department of Biology
P.O. Box 400328
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4328
Phone: 434-982-5486
bbrodie@virginia.edu
   
Vice-Presidents
Laura Galloway (North American)
Biology Department
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA 22904
Phone: 434-982-5010
lgalloway@virginia.edu
Rhonda Snook (non-North American)
Department of Animal and Plant Sciences
University of Sheffield
Sheffield UK S10 2TN
Phone: [+]44 (0) 114-222-0126
r.snook@sheffield.ac.uk
   
Secretary
John K. Kelly
Dept of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-3706
jkk@ku.edu
 
   
Council – Class of 2014
Aneil F. Agrawal
Dept of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Toronto
Phone: 416-946-5563
a.agrawal@utoronto.ca
Judith Elizabeth Mank
Department of Zoology
Edward Grey Institute
University of Oxford, UK
Phone: +44 (1865) 281 312
Judith.Mank@zoo.ox.ack.uk
   
Council – Class of 2015
Luke Harmon
Dept of Biologicl Science
University of Idaho
Phone: 208-885-0346
lukeh@uidaho.edu
Kim Hughes
Institute for Genomic Biology
Florida State University
Phone: 850-645-8553
kahughes@bio.fsu.edu
   
Council – Class of 2016
Karin Pfennig
Department of Biology, CB #3280
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3280
Phone: 919-962-6782
kpfennig@unc.edu
Kelly Dyer
Department of Genetics
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-7223
Phone: 706-542-3154
kdyer@uga.edu
   
Editor-in-Chief, EVOLUTION
Ruth Shaw
Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behaviour
University of Minnesota
Ph.D., Duke University, 1983
Phone: 612-624-7206 Fax: 612-624-6777
shawx016@umn.edu
 
   
Editors
Jeffrey Conner
Kellogg Biological Station
Michigan State University
connerj@msu.edu
Thomas Lenormand
Genetics and Dynamics of Population
CEFE Laboratory
MONTPELLIER, France
thomas.lenormand@cefe.cnrs.fr
   
Chair, Education & Outreach
Thomas Meagher
School of Biology
Harold Mitchell Building
University of St Andrews
St Andrews
Fife, KY16 9TH UK
Phone: 01334 46-3364
trm3@st-andrews.ac.uk
Chair, International Committee
Nina Wedell
Dept of Biosciences
University of Exeter, Cornwall Campus
UK
Phone: +44 (0) 1326 371863
N.Wedell@exeter.ac.uk


2014 SSE Committee Memberships
* Committee designated in Constitution or Bylaws
Ad hoc committee appointed by Pres. and approved by council

Nominating Committee
Constitution, Article 5

Katie Peichel (Chair)
Fred Janzen
Joan Strassman

Finance Committee
Bylaws, Article 4

Edmund Brodie III
Charlie Fenster
John Kelly
Kent Holsinger

   
Dobzhansky Award Committee
Bylaws, Article 4

John Kelly
Laura Galloway
Rhonda Snook

Fisher Prize Commitee
Bylaws, Article 4

Mohamed Noor
Daphne Fairbairn
Richard Lenski

   
Gould Committee
(Two members of the Education committee and the two 3rd year council members)

Steve Palumbi (Chair)
Aneil F. Agrawa
Judith Elizabeth Mank
Louise Mead

Rosemary Grant Committee
(North American VP, Non-North American VP, 1st & 2nd year council members, volunteers as needed)

Laura Galloway (chair)
Rhonda Snook
Karin Pfennig
Kelly Dyer
Luke Harmon
Kim Hughes

   
Hamilton Award Committee
Jacob A. Russell (Chair)
David Althoff
Becky Fuller
Joel McGlothlin
David Reznick
Emilie Snell-Rood
 


 

International Affairs Committee

USA/Canada
Daphne Fairbairn (USA), Andrew Hendry (Canada).

Europe
Axel Meyer (Germany),, Nina Wedell (Chair; UK).

Australia/New Zealand
Andrwe Cockburn (Australia), Graham Wallis (New Zealand).

Africa
Matthew Conrad (South Africa), Isa-Rita Russo (South Africa).

South America
Enrique Lessa (Uruguay)

Asia
Suhua Shi (China)


 

Multi-Society Evolution Meeting Organization Committee (aka ‘Vision Committee)
SSE representative: Aneil Agrawal
SSB representative: Lacey Knowles
ASN representative: Becky Fuller
Chief Meeting Officer: Howard Rundle
SSE E-VP: Butch Brodie


 

SSE Education & Outreach Committee

Thomas R. Meagher (1997) 

Committee Chair 
School of Biology 
University of St Andrews 
St Andrews, Fife KY16 9TH UK 
Tel: + (0)1334 463364 
trm3@st-andrews.ac.uk

Michael Antolin (2001)

Department of Biology
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1878
Tel: (970) 491-1911
Antolin@lamar.colostate.edu

E Dale Broder (2013)     

Research associate and PhD candidate
Department of Biology, Graduate Program in Ecology 
Colorado State University
E437 Anatomy-Zoology Building 
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1878
Tel: 970-491-4137
dalebroder.wordpress.com

Scott Edwards (2000)

Organismic and Evolutionary Biology; Museum
of Comparative Zoology
MCZ 500A
Cambridge, MA 02138
Tel: (617) 384-8082
sedwards@fas.harvard.edu

George Gilchrist (2009)

ASN Representative
National Science Foundation Division of Environmental. Biology, Room 635 N,
4201 Wilson Blvd. 
Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: (703) 292-7138
ggilchri@nsf.gov

Joseph L. Graves Jr. (2000)

Associate Dean for Research
Joint School of Nanoscience & Nanoengineering
NCATSU & UNC Greensboro
2907 E. Lee St.
Greensboro, NC 27401
Tel: (336) 285-2858
gravesjl@ncat.edu

Kristin Jenkins (2006)

Institute for Biology Education
University of Wisconsin, Madison
445 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
kpjenkins@wisc.edu

Rebecca Kimball (2008)

SSB Representative
Department of Zoology 
P.O. Box 118525 
University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL 32611 
Tel: ( 352) 846-3737 
rkimball@ufl.edu

Louise Mead (2008)

Education Director, BEACON Center
Biomedical and Physical Sciences Building
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road Room 1441
East Lansing, MI 48824
Tel: (517) 884-2555
lsmead@msu.edu

Mohamed Noor (2013)

Biology Department 
Duke University 
Durham, NC 27708 
Phone: 
919-613-8156      
noor@duke.edu

Steve Palumbi (2002)

Stanford University
Hopkins Marine Lab
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Tel: (831) 655-6244/6200
spalumbi@stanford.edu

Robert T. Pennock (2000)

Lyman Briggs College of Science
Depts. of Philo., CSE, & EEBB
Michigan State University
East Lansing MI 48825-1107
Tel: (517) 432-7701
pennock5@msu.edu

Sam Scheiner (2001) 

National Science Foundation
Division of Environmental Biology, Room 635
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: (703) 292-7175
sscheine@nsf.gov

Jim Smith (2012)

Lyman Briggs College
Michigan State
W-26C Holmes
Tel: (517) 353-3939
jimsmith@msu.edu

Jory P Weintraub (2013)

Program Manager, NESCent Education and Outreach 
National Evolutionary Synthesis Center 
2024 W. Main St., Suite A 200 
Durham, NC 27705 
Tel: (919) 668-4544 
lviscrst@live.unc.edu

Lorne Wolfe (2007) 

Department of Biology 
Georgia Southern University 
Statesboro, GA 30460-8042 
Tel: (912) 478-0848 
wolfe@georgiasouthern.edu

Web 
Bill Dahl  
SSE Office 
St. Louis, MO 63110 
Tel: ( 314) 577-9566 

wdahl@evolutionsociety.org

 

 

Past Committee Members 

Brian Alters (1998-2013) 
Mike Antolin (2001-2006)
Kerry Bright (2000-2006)  
Jackie Brown (1997-2000)  
Paul Chippendale (2002-2006)  
Carol D. von Dohlen (2002-2006)  
Sam Donovan (2000-2013) 
Irene Eckstrand (1997-2003)  
Elizabeth Elle (2008-2009) 
Doug Futuyma (1997-1998)  
Greg Gibson (2001)  
Josepha Kurdziel (2001-2007)  
Rick Miller (1997-1999)  
Craig Nelson (1998-2001)  
Patrick Phillips (2001-2007)  
Massimo Pigliucci (2001-2006)  
Malcolm Shug (2002-2013) 
Linda Strausbaugh (2001-2002)  
Marta Wayne (2000-2002)  
George Weiblen (2007-2008)  
Peter Wimberger (1997-2000) 

Past Chairs 

1997-2001 – Irene Eckstrand 
2001-2005 – Sam Donovan 
2005-2009 – Robert T. Pennock


Publishers Contacts

Wiley-Blackwell Publishing
Hannah Smith
Editor, Life Sciences
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Tel: 201-748-7668
Email: hansmith@wiley.com

Katie SImmons
Managing Editor, Evolution
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Tel: 
Email: 

   
Ashleigh Astrella
(Handles mailing list rentals)
aastrella@wiley.com
 


Business Office

SSE Business Office
William M Dahl
Society for the Study of Evolution
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299
St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9566
FAX: 314-577-9515
wdahl@botany.org
SSE Membership Coordinator
Heather Cacanindin
Membership & Subscriptions Director
BSA & SSE
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299, St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9554
FAX: 314-577-9515
hcacanindin@botany.org


List Server Contacts
EvolDir – Brian Golding
golding@mcmaster.ca

EcoLog
ECOLOG-L-request@listserv.umd.edu