Officers

Officers and Council Members
Committees
Publishers Contacts
Business Office
List Serves
Handbook for SSE Council Members

 

SSE Officers and Council Members: 2017
(Names of voting members are in bold face)

President
Sally Otto
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z4
Phone: 604-822-2778
otto@zoology.ubc.ca
president@evolutionsociety.org
President-Elect
Hopi Hoekstra
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: (617) 496-9040
hoekstra@oeb.harvard.edu
   

Past President
Kim Hughes
Department of Biological Science
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Phone: 850-645-8554 
kahughes@bio.fsu.edu

Executive Vice-President
Andrea Case
Department of Biological Sciences
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio, USA 44242
Phone: 330-672-3699
acase@kent.edu
execvp@evolutionsociety.org
   
Vice-Presidents
Jenny Boughman (North American)
Department of Zoology
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, USA 48824
Phone: 517-353-8636
boughman@msu.edu

Isabel Gordo (non-North American)
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
Potugal
+351 214407915 ext 4215
igordo@igc.gulbenkian.pt

   
Secretary
Cynthia Weinig
Departments of Botany and Molecular Biology
Program in Ecology
University of Wyoming
Laramie WY 820701
Phone: 307-766-6378
cweinig@uwyo.edu
secretary@evolutionsociety.org
 
   
Council – Class of 2017
Kelly Dyer
Department of Genetics
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-7223
Phone: 706-542-3154
kdyer@uga.edu
Kristi Montooth
School of Biological Sciences
University of Nebraska
Lincoln NE, 68588-0118
Phone: (402) 472-8455 
kmontooth2@unl.edu
   
Council – Class of 2018
Susan Alberts
Department of Biology
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-660-7272
alberts@duke.edu
Rebecca (Becky) Fuller
Department of Animal Biology
University of Illinois - Champaign
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: 217-333-9065
fuller@life.illinois.edu
   
Council – Class of 2019
Daniel Matute
Department of Biology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu
Trisha Wittkopp
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734.763.1548
wittkopp@umich.edu
   
Editor-in-Chief, EVOLUTION
Mohamed Noor
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-613-8156
noor@duke.edu
 
   
Editors
Peter Tiffin
Department of Plant Biology
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN 55108
(612) 624-7406
ptiffin@umn.edu
Maria Servedio
Biology Department
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu
   
Chair, Education & Outreach
Louise S. Mead
Education Director
BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action
567 Wilson Ave, BPS 1441
East Lansing, MI
Phone: 517-884-2560
lsmead@msu.edu
Chair, International Committee
Nina Wedell
Dept of Biosciences
University of Exeter, Cornwall Campus
UK
Phone: +44 (0) 1326 371863
N.Wedell@exeter.ac.uk


2017 SSE Committee Memberships
* Committee designated in Constitution or Bylaws
Ad hoc committee appointed by Pres. and approved by council

Nominating Committee
Constitution, Article 5
Judith Mank (Chair)
Norman Johnson
Marc Johnson
Finance Committee
Bylaws, Article 4
Edmund Brodie III
Charlie Fenster
Cynthia Weinig
Kent Holsinger
   
 Graduate Student Advisory Council
Megan Kobiela (Chair)
Daren Card
Melissa Kemp
Aide Macias Munoz
Jodie Wiggins
 
   
Dobzhansky Award Committee
Bylaws, Article 4
Cynthia Weinig
Isabel Gordo
Jenny Boughman
Fisher Prize Commitee
Bylaws, Article 4
Sally Otto
Kim Hughes
Hopi Hoekstra
   
Gould Committee
(Two members of the Education committee and the two 3rd year council members)
Louise Mead (Chair)
Kelly Dyer
Kristi Montooth
Michael Antolin
Rosemary Grant Committee
(North American VP, Non-North American VP, 1st & 2nd year council members, 3 members of GSAC))
Isabel Gordo (Chair)
Jenny Boughman
Becky Fuller
Susan Alberts
Trisha Wittkopp
Daniel Matute
3 members of GSAC
   
Hamilton Award Committee
Joel McGlothlin (Chair)
Janna Fierst
Katy Heath
Chris Herlihy
Jennifer Kovacs
Daniel Matute
Will Ratcliff
Diverse Careers Committee
Lex Flagel (Chair)
Judi Brown Clarke
Eddie Gonzalez
Karl Grieshop, TRAINEE
Aide Macias Munoz, TRAINEE
Sarah Seiter
Liz Silva
Lenny Teytelman
Grace A Wyngaard
Mohamed Noor (ex officio)


 

International Affairs Committee

USA/Canada
Daphne Fairbairn (USA), Andrew Hendry (Canada).

Europe
Axel Meyer (Germany), Nina Wedell (Chair; UK).

Australia/New Zealand
Andrew Cockburn (Australia), Graham Wallis (New Zealand).

Africa
Matthew Conrad (South Africa), Isa-Rita Russo (South Africa).

South America
Enrique Lessa (Uruguay)

Asia
Suhua Shi (China)


 

Multi-Society Evolution Meeting Organization Committee (aka "Vision Committee")
SSE representative: Aneil Agrawal
SSB representative: Kelly Zamudio
ASN representative: Matt Walsh
Chief Meeting Officer: Howard Rundle
SSE EVP: Andrea Case


 

SSE Education & Outreach Committee

 

Louise S. Mead(1997) 

Committee Chair 
Education Director
BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action
567 Wilson Ave, BPS 1441
East Lansing, MI
517-884-2560
lsmead@msu.edu

Thomas R. Meagher (1997)  

School of Biology 
University of St Andrews 
St Andrews, Fife KY16 9TH UK 
Tel: + (0)1334 463364 
trm3@st-andrews.ac.uk

Michael Antolin (2001)

Department of Biology
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1878
Tel: (970) 491-1911
Antolin@lamar.colostate.edu

E Dale Broder (2013)     

Research associate and PhD candidate
Department of Biology, Graduate Program in Ecology 
Colorado State University
E437 Anatomy-Zoology Building 
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1878
Tel: 970-491-4137
dalebroder.wordpress.com

Scott Edwards (2000)

Organismic and Evolutionary Biology; Museum
of Comparative Zoology
MCZ 500A
Cambridge, MA 02138
Tel: (617) 384-8082
sedwards@fas.harvard.edu

George Gilchrist (2009)

ASN Representative
National Science Foundation Division of Environmental. Biology, Room 635 N,
4201 Wilson Blvd. 
Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: (703) 292-7138
ggilchri@nsf.gov

Joseph L. Graves Jr. (2000)

Associate Dean for Research
Joint School of Nanoscience & Nanoengineering
NCATSU & UNC Greensboro
2907 E. Lee St.
Greensboro, NC 27401
Tel: (336) 285-2858
gravesjl@ncat.edu

Kristin Jenkins (2006)

Institute for Biology Education
University of Wisconsin, Madison
445 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
kpjenkins@wisc.edu

Rebecca Kimball (2008)

SSB Representative
Department of Zoology 
P.O. Box 118525 
University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL 32611 
Tel: ( 352) 846-3737 
rkimball@ufl.edu

Louise Mead (2008)

Education Director, BEACON Center
Biomedical and Physical Sciences Building
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road Room 1441
East Lansing, MI 48824
Tel: (517) 884-2555
lsmead@msu.edu

Rich Kliman (2014)

Department of Biological Sciences
Cedar Crest College 
Allentown, PA 18104 
Phone: 
610-606-4666      
rmkliman@cedarcrest.edu

 

Juliet Noor (2014)

Biology Department
Campus Box 90338 
Duke University 
Durham, NC 27708 
Phone: 
919-613-8224       
jkfnoor@duke.edu

Mohamed Noor (2013)

Biology Department
Campus Box 90338 
Duke University 
Durham, NC 27708 
Phone: 
919-613-8156      
noor@duke.edu

Steve Palumbi (2002)

Stanford University
Hopkins Marine Lab
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Tel: (831) 655-6244/6200
spalumbi@stanford.edu

Robert T. Pennock (2000)

Lyman Briggs College of Science
Depts. of Philo., CSE, & EEBB
Michigan State University
East Lansing MI 48825-1107
Tel: (517) 432-7701
pennock5@msu.edu

Sam Scheiner (2001) 

National Science Foundation
Division of Environmental Biology, Room 635
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: (703) 292-7175
sscheine@nsf.gov

Jim Smith (2012)

Lyman Briggs College
Michigan State
W-26C Holmes
Tel: (517) 353-3939
jimsmith@msu.edu

Jory P Weintraub (2013)

Program Manager, NESCent Education and Outreach 
National Evolutionary Synthesis Center 
2024 W. Main St., Suite A 200 
Durham, NC 27705 
Tel: (919) 668-4544 
lviscrst@live.unc.edu

Lorne Wolfe (2007) 

Department of Biology 
Georgia Southern University 
Statesboro, GA 30460-8042 
Tel: (912) 478-0848 
wolfe@georgiasouthern.edu

Web 
Bill Dahl  
SSE Office 
St. Louis, MO 63110 
Tel: (314) 577-9566 

wdahl@evolutionsociety.org


Publishers Contacts

Wiley-Blackwell Publishing
Otto Ottogalli
Senior Editor, Life Sciences
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Tel: 201-748-7668
sottogalli@wiley.com

Katie Simmons
Managing Editor, Evolution
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Email:  evoedoffice@wiley.com

   
Ashleigh Astrella
(Handles mailing list rentals)
aastrella@wiley.com
 

 


Business Contacts

SSE Communications
Kati Moore
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
communications@evolutionsociety.org

 

 
SSE Business Office
William M Dahl
Society for the Study of Evolution
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299
St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9566
FAX: 314-577-9515
wdahl@evolutionsociety.org
SSE Membership Coordinator
Heather Cacanindin
Membership & Subscriptions Director
BSA & SSE
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299, St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9554
FAX: 314-577-9515
hcacanindin@evolutionsociety.org


List Server Contacts
EvolDir – Brian Golding
golding@mcmaster.ca

EcoLog
ECOLOG-L-request@listserv.umd.edu