The Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize


The Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize the accomplishments and future promise of an outstanding young evolutionary biologist.   The prize was established in memory of Professor Dobzhansky by his friends and colleagues, and reflects his lifelong commitment to fostering the research careers of young scientists.

This year’s winner of the Dobzhansky Prize is Dr. Mary Caswell Stoddard. Dr. Stoddard graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelors’ of Science in Biology from Yale in 2008, and subsequently completed her PhD in Zoology as a Marshall Scholar at the University of Cambridge in 2015. From 2012-2015, she was a Junior Fellow at Harvard University. She will start as an Assistant Professor at Princeton in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology in July 2016.  Dr. Stoddard’s research explores how animals perceive information in the environment and process this information as well as how these factors influence performance. More specifically, Dr. Stoddard works on the evolutionary ecology of mimicry, the evolution of coloration in birds, and evolution of avian eggs; the research is a model of integrative science, drawing on computer vision, comparative genomics and bioengineering as well as behavioral and evolutionary ecology. Dr. Stoddard’s work is at the forefront of technological innovationand brings important new quantitative approaches to both microevolutionary and macroevolutionary behavioral studies. The highly interdisciplinary nature of Dr. Stoddard’s work is indicated by the publication of 20+ papers to date in diverse journals, including Evolution as well asNature Communications, American Naturalist, Proceedings of the Royal Society, and Behavioral Ecology. 


Past Dobzhansky Prize winners:

        1990   Erik Greene       2000   Thomas Lenormand       2010   Fyodor Kondrashov   
1981   Douglas R. Cavener       1991   Jonathan Losos       2001   Alexander Badyaev       2011   Joel McGlothlin  
1982  Elizabeth Anne Zimmer       1992   Barry Sinervo       2002   Howard Rundle        2012   Daniel Rabosky  
1983 Anthony J. Zera     1993   H. Allen Orr       2003   Daven Presgraves       2013   Rowan D. H. Barrett  
1984   Robb F. Leary     1994   David Haig       2004   Aneil Agrawal       2014   Daniel Matute  
1985 Joshua J. Schwartz      1995   David Begun       2005   Daniel Bolnick       2015    Katie Wagner
        1996   Rufus A. Johnstone       2006   Russel Bonduriansky        2016    Mary Caswell Stoddard
1987   Ary A. Hoffmann       1997   Massimo Pigliucci        2007   Franziska Michor              
1988  Steven A. Frank       1998   Christian P. Klingenberg       2008   Patrik Nosil              
1989 Bernard J. Crespi     1999   Jason B. Wolf       2009   Judith Mank               


Back to top